





President - Stefan Krompier
Vice President - Scott Stark
Secretary - Rosemarie Tavitian
Treasurer - Barbara Gregorio
Chief Information Officer - Richard D. Erben

AFA EXECUTIVE BOARD:

Richard Beck Ken Bellafiore Chris Enright Bob Femminella Paul Guadagnino Garry Ouellette Ethel Weeks

AFA DEPARTMENT REPRESENTATIVES:

Accounting and Business Administration	Joseph Gray
Administrative Business Technology	M. Debra DeSanto
Africana Studies	Vacant
Allied Health Sciences	Alan Hecht
Art	Paul Guadagnino
Biology	Robert Femminella
Chemistry	Chris Enright
Communications	Jack Demasi
Criminal Justice	Vacant
Critical Reading and Academic Advancemen	ntCarl Vinas
Economics and Finance	Ethel Weeks
Engineering/Physics/Technology	Richard Beck
English	Henry Sikorski
Foreign Languages	

Health/Physical Eduction & Recreation	Ed Mack
History/Political Science/Geography	
Hospitality and Business	
Legal Studies	Joyce Birdoff
Library	
Marketing/Retailing/Fashion Buying/Merch	
Design/Interior Design	Tom Sands
Math/ComputerScience&InformationTechn	nology
	Carmine Desanto
Mortuary Science	Vacant
Music	Garry Ouellette
NursingMar	y Ann Hellmer-Saul
Philosophy	Philip Pecorino
Physical Sciences	Michael Zito
Psychology	Brent Nelson
Sociology/Anthropology and Social Work	Ruth Silverman
Student Personnel Services - Instructors	Darren Petronella
Student Personnel Services - Interpreters	Judith Rackovich
Student Services	Diana Cannone
Theatre & Dance.	Charles Albano
Unattached Technical Assistants	William Lyons

AFA COMMITTEES:

Constitution/BylawsChair: Arthur Friedman	
Members: Gerald Scharfman, Philip Pecorino	
Elections/Qualifications	
Members: Chris Enright, Rashied K. Sharrieff-Al-	
Bey, Philip Pecorino	
Grievance	
Political ActionCo-Chairs: Garry Ouellette/Gerald Scharfman	
Health & SafetyChair: Ken Bellafiore	
Members: Carl Vinas, Chris Enright, Gail Sobel,	
Mary Ann Hellmer-Saul, Mary Bagnasco, Robert	
Femminella, Susan Mitchell	
Scholarship and Grants	
Members: Bonnie Fachler, Jan R. Figueira, Jim Hovt	

Administrative Assistant - Felicia Blackman

Vanguard Editor - Paul Guadagnino Vanguard Preproduction - Grace Schneider





From the President's Desk



Stefan Krompier

Over the past year and four months, you have worked extremely hard to overcome the many personal and professional challenges that the COVID19 pandemic has thrown at you. Your efforts to provide your students with a top-notch education, while battling the virus threats to you and your loved ones, has been nothing short of herculean. I am extremely proud to know you and to serve as your president.

For so many reasons, it is extremely difficult to even begin to predict what this college will look like in the fall. Year-to-date student enrollment for the Fall Semester 2021 is down 19.97% and down 21.15% in credits. My hope is that a late July and

August registration will reverse the present decline.

Via a plethora of communications to college administrators and Vision Point Marketing, I and other NCC marketing educators have offered advice as to how to shape both a marketing plan and a promotion plan that would significantly boost enrollment. On June 1st, Vision Point Marketing began promoting the many benefits of enrolling at NCC. Both myself and other campus leaders are looking forward to seeing their promotional plan and are hopeful that it achieves the desired result – a significant increase in both short and long-term enrollment.

This past Friday, I was particularly impressed with a message posted on Instagram that branded NCC as "SUNY Nassau." The message focused on the cost savings of choosing SUNY Nassau over outrageously expensive colleges/universities, and labeled those who chose SUNY Nassau to begin their college education as "The Smart Ones." I shared this post with my 484 Facebook friends and asked these friends to share the post with their friends. Knowing the correlation between effective marketing, enrollment, and jobs, I ask you to friend Nassau Community College on Facebook/Instagram and share NCC/SUNY Nassau posting with your friends. On Facebook go to: https://www.facebook.com/nassaucommunitycollege and on Instagram please visit https://www.instagram.com/nassaucommunitycollege/

Last, but certainly not least, I wish you a healthy and relaxing summer.

Stefan Krompier President Adjunct Faculty Association





Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching

2018-2019 Recipients 2019-2020 Recipients 2020-2021 Recípients

Timothy Driscoll
Jamie Graber
Albert Grazia
Alan Hecht
Mark Malaszczyk
Michael McGinty
Anthony Perrotto
Norman Rubin

Jane Borovina
John Boyle
Kerri Kiefer-Viverito
Phillip Moshoyannis
Patricia Radigan
Salwa (Sallie) Touma

Robert N. Femminella James Polo

